Arise

Created in 2019

A creation by Christian and François Ben Aïm and Piers Faccini

A dialogue between dance and music intended for sacred or atypical places, Arise is a piece that will reinvent and remodel itself according to the spaces it occupies.

Arise is based on a sensitive approach to the notions of solitude and elevation. A poetic performance of sobriety to better reveal what is most alive in each of us. This deployment addresses the notion of the sacred and seeks to propose an approach that oscillates between religiosity and the pagan dimension.

The piece takes the form of a dialogue with Piers Faccini, a refined author-composer-performer who signs a sparse and bewitching music. The piece, which is fundamentally evolving, has entered into an intimate resonance with the Sainte-Chapelle, a majestic building, both imposing and soothing, chosen as the place of creation – the project being called upon thereafter to circulate and to be (re)modelled in other spaces.

If the piece is an invitation to meditation, it also tends to experience the opposite movement: that of openness, which borders on the search for a transparency that Tommy Pascal was able to magnify in a film: I remember saying goodbye. Thanks to the subtle eye of the director, inhabited by the expression of the body in movement, the relationship to music as a link between dance, heritage sites and in-situ routes is highlighted.

© Patrick Berger

Press

Arise, Danser Canal Historique

Under the irresistible upward pull of the Sainte-Chapelle vault, Christian and François Ben Aïm, Louis Gillard and musician Piers Faccini enter into a dialogue with death, resurrection and the afterlife,…

1920 1346 Compagnie Christian et François Ben Aïm

Arise, Ballroom revue

Programmed as part of the seventh Séquence Danse Paris festival and the fifth edition of Monuments en mouvement, Arise offers, as the first event does, a choreographic universe that is…

1920 1346 Compagnie Christian et François Ben Aïm

Arise, Le Figaro Magazine

With the fifth season of Monuments en mouvement, the Centre des monuments nationaux offers unique experiences. With Arise, these two choreographers prove that creating in situ can generate a unique…

1920 1346 Compagnie Christian et François Ben Aïm
Upcoming dates

17 Mar 2022

8pm

Collégiale Saint-Martin, Angers, (49)

5 Apr 2022

8.45pm

Chapelle Saint-Philippe, Fondation d’Auteuil, Meudon (78)

24 May 2022

8.30pm

Salle des Échevins, Théâtre de Villefranche-sur-Saône (69)

Rechercher

Arise

Création 2019

Une création de Christian et François Ben Aïm et Piers Faccini

Dialogue danse et musique destiné aux lieux sacrés ou atypiques, Arise, est une pièce appelée à se réinventer et se remodeler en fonction des espaces qu’elle investit.

Arise s’appuie sur une approche sensible des notions de solitude et d’élévation. Une performance poétique de la sobriété pour mieux dévoiler ce qu’il y a de plus vivant en chacun de nous. Ce déploiement aborde de fait la notion du sacré et cherche à en proposer une approche qui oscille entre religiosité et dimension païenne.

La pièce prend la forme d’un dialogue Piers Faccini, auteur-compositeur-interprète raffiné qui signe une musique épurée et envoûtante. Foncièrement évolutive, elle est entrée en résonance intime avec la Sainte-Chapelle, majestueux édifice, à la fois imposant et apaisant, choisi comme lieu de création – le projet étant appelé par la suite à circuler et à se (re)modeler dans d’autres espaces.

Si l’invitation au recueillement s’impose, la pièce tend à en éprouver le mouvement inverse : celui de l’ouverture qui confine à la recherche d’une transparence que Tommy Pascal a su magnifier dans un film : I remember saying goodbye. Grâce à l’œil subtil du réalisateur, habité par l’expression du corps en mouvement, le rapport à la musique comme trait d’union entre la danse, les lieux patrimoniaux et les parcours in-situ est mis en lumière.

© Photographies : Patrick Berger

Presse

Arise, Danser Canal Historique

Sous l’irrésistible aspiration vers le haut, produite par la voûte de la Sainte-Chapelle, Christian et François Ben Aïm, Louis Gillard et le musicien Piers Faccini dialoguent avec la mort, la…

1920 1346 Compagnie Christian et François Ben Aïm

Arise, Ballroom revue

Programmé dans le cadre du septième festival Séquence Danse Paris et de la cinquième édition de Monuments en mouvement, Arise offre, comme le veut la première manifestation, un univers chorégraphique…

1920 1346 Compagnie Christian et François Ben Aïm

Arise, Le Figaro Magazine

Avec la cinquième saison de Monuments en mouvement, le Centre des monuments nationaux propose des expériences uniques. Avec Arise, ces deux chorégraphes prouvent que la création in situ peut générer…

1920 1346 Compagnie Christian et François Ben Aïm
Prochainement

17 Mar 2022

20h

Collégiale Saint-Martin, Angers, (49)

5 Avr 2022

20h30

Chapelle Saint-Philippe, Fondation d’Auteuil, Meudon (78)

24 Mai 2022

20h30

Salle des Échevins, Théâtre de Villefranche-sur-Saône (69)

Rechercher